• Youtube
  • LinkedIn
  • Google Plus
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
Menu

Explore The House

Lib Resized - Hatfield House
Lib Resized - Hatfield House

The Library

The Library houses an extensive collection of more than 10,000 volumes, dating from the 16th century to the present day.

The room occupies the site of the original Great and Withdrawing Chambers on the west side of the House. In contrast, the rooms on the east side were reserved for the King.

The Library was formed in about 1782, when the dividing wall between the two rooms was removed. The rebuilt chimneypiece incorporates a remarkable mosaic portrait of Robert Cecil which was made in Venice and presented as a gift to him in 1608.

Most of the chairs were made for the room in 1782 and have only recently been recovered in Nigerian goatskin to match the original crimson leather.

The windows overlook the West Garden and the Old Palace. The cast-iron rails of the balcony were supplied from Paris in 1875.

  • Hatfield House:
  • OPEN 11am-5pm (last entry 4pm)
  • West Garden:
  • OPEN 10:30am-5pm
  • East Garden:
  • CLOSED (open each Wednesday)
  • Restaurant:
  • OPEN 10am-5pm
  • Stable Yard:
  • OPEN 10am-5pm
  • Hatfield Park Farm:
  • OPEN 10am-5pm (last entry 4pm)
Special Offer- The Favourite Exhibition & ONE Nights stay at Lawn House - Hatfield House

Special Offer- The Favourite Exhibition & ONE Nights stay at Lawn House

You now have the chance to see some of the most iconic costumes from the film, in...